Psychiatrist Robert L. Horne Exposed… Almost!

Prominent Psychiatrist Robert L. Horne was the subject of two lawsuits in four years.  Horne, who practices in Las Vegas paid $750,000 to Vincent Gulino in an out of court settlement.

The other case was a malpractice lawsuit brought against Horne by Patricia Ambrosio in 2003.

District Judge Michelle Leavitt ordered both cases to be sealed from public view.  No information is thus to be gained about what precisely Horne was guilty of.

No information also is available to say why the judge took the action of sealing details of the case from public view.  Was it for the benefit of the victims?  If the crimes were that bad then surely Horne would not still be practicing, which he is. 

It is reasonable to conclude that it must have been for the benefit of the psychiatrist.

I wonder how much Horne had to pay out in total, and to whom he had to pay it?

30 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Dan Bek on July 13, 2008 at 1:24 pm

    7/12/2008
    This Horne guy is a whacko, he works for the Libby company and is fudgin his books to make it look like he is treating patients who do not even exist!
    He just treated a 47 yr old female with a seizure med which reacted with her other meds Horne failed to ask about and she was rushed to Spring Valley Hospital where she was given narcan to reverse the poisioning and resulting OD. He could have killed her. The truth will be told

    Reply

    • Couldn’t agree more with Dan Bek! I literally just stumbled upon this website, but thought I would chime in here. Horne is indeed a grade A whacko! I saw him for 5 years back in the late 80s as a young adult for treatment of an eating disorder. He’s been ripping off insurance companies for years and victimizing his patients. I would have probably been in “analysis” with him for a lifetime if I hadn’t opened my eyes and terminated my so-called “therapy” on my own volition. He should have had his license yanked decades ago. Here’s a tip, Horne: Weighing your patients backwards on the scale and having them write down what they eat on food charts does not get to the root of the underlying problem of an eating disorder! Hello? Good morning! I was THRILLED to see that he had to pay up to the tune of $750,000 clams in out-of-court settlements a few years back. Sad to say though, it probably didn’t scratch the surface of what he really owes to the number of patients he has ripped off, much less to the insurance companies! What a waste of time! One of the smartest things I ever did was to get away from this quack. I’ve never had one regret about it. I am living a happy, productive, and well-balanced life…have been for the past 20 years. Oh, and the eating disorder? Fully recovered, thanks to hard work and a competent therapist.

      Reply

      • Posted by lisa palombi on May 4, 2015 at 7:06 am

        Amy, i may have been in Carrier Clinic at the same time with you.

    • Posted by Chele Smith on September 10, 2012 at 3:44 am

      Dan Bek, I need to get in touch with you concerning Dr. Robert Lynn Horne.
      Thank you.

      Reply

  2. Posted by Mickey on January 11, 2011 at 1:56 am

    Robert Horne is a total fraud. I saw him in the late 80’s and he practially ruined my life. I could write a book about how strange this guy is.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Lynn on September 7, 2011 at 6:57 am

    This guy is all about the money, doesn’t respond to pharmacies, tries to treat thyroid, but creates a hyperthyroid condition. My internist said he obviously doesn’t know enough about the thyroid/thyroid tests to be treating for it. He tries to convince you to join his studies whether you are truly a fit or not.

    Reply

  4. Posted by marjorie rondinelli on January 4, 2012 at 3:54 am

    i also was treated by dr. horne for an eating disorder back in the early 80’s. strange man

    Reply

  5. Posted by Juliet on June 15, 2012 at 2:11 pm

    I saw him through-out the 80s and early 90s. He was a horrible doctor. I can’t tell you the trauma he put me through. I am still traumatized by some of it. Amy, my experiences echo yours. I really wish I could go back in time and sue him. At the time, I was such am emotional wreck (90% by what he did to me) I couldn’t even think of that kind of thing. He damaged my self esteem. His treatments were abusive. I remember being force-fed 3000 calories a day. When that didn’t make me gain enough, I was up to THIRTEEN milkshakes a day with the 3000 calories a day. For someone 5’1″ and very petite, it was torture.

    He told me that my thoughts about food were psychotic and therefor he tried every anti-psychotic on the market on me. They gave me horrible, horrible side effects. There was an antidote called Cogentin they could give me to fix it, but he had to order it. I remember one time laying in hallway in agony, all my muscles seizing, and he stepped over me and took other patients first. The other patients asked him to see me first, but he ignored them. I don’t know if he thought I was making it up or what?! I still have flashbacks about it. I remembered it while giving birth to my daughter 15 years later because I wanted to compare it what people say is the worst pain ever. I thought, “This is about equal to what Dr. Horne did” as I waited for the epidural.

    They ran me though one million dollars insurance during the nine months I was hospitalized over two years time. He still saw me, but he told me I was a “charity case” and that I basically had to “put up or shut up.” (Those were his words.) He signed me up for an experimental drug that the FDA was still testing. I had to give my ssn to the government and it made me horrible sick and gain fifty pounds.

    If I didn’t gain 1/4 lb every day, he would take away privileges. I tried so hard. I got more and more privileges taken away and at one point lost everything I owned, including my clothes (just a hospital gown) and had to lay in bed all day and no one was allowed to talk to me, not even the nurses. Way to treat a 16 year old girl suffering from depression.

    He basically treated me like something on the bottom of his shoe and never got me any better over the ten years or so I saw him. I became much,much worse. I am still affected by all I went though. I was a little underweight when my mom first took me to see him, but over the course of the years I was diagnosed with so many psychiatric illnesses, and tried dozens upon dozens of drugs. Now I am on one thing, to help me sleep, and I don’t think I was really sick in the first place. He told my parents, religious leader, teachers, that I would never get better, never have kids and eventually be institutionalized. IN YOUR FACE, Dr. Horne! I believe he is a megalomaniac and a sociopath.

    Reply

    • Posted by Chele Smith on September 10, 2012 at 7:16 am

      Juliet, Why didn’t you report him to the Medical Board or for Ethic’s violations?

      Reply

      • Posted by Juliet on September 10, 2012 at 7:41 am

        Is there a statute of limitations? I feel sick because he damaged me so badly. He really messed with my head, not to mention making me a guinea pig for all his experimental drugs when I was only 16. I feel like it’s too late to do anything now but it took me many years to realize just how bad it all was.

      • Posted by Chele Smith on September 10, 2012 at 3:29 pm

        Juliet, If you were a patient in a “Study Group” your parents or guardians would have had to sign all the forms for you to be in the study. If you reached legal age during the study, you should have been required to sign new forms. If you were of age and didn’t sign forms, then I suggest you may want to seek professional advice.

  6. Posted by Anthony Val Roybal on January 22, 2013 at 6:53 pm

    I suffer from depprestion and adhd. Dr. Horne when he is not the head of the clark county prison system and running his boy scout passion. He will try to fit you in. The fact he try’s to fuck his patient’s is wrong. I came to him for help. I begged him for help. He told me to get a I-phone and get a Job. While I throw up everyday is the shower from anzitey? He does nothing. He laughs at my crud joke’s. Then he will send you to a another Doctor when he cant solve the problem. The guy is crooked maybey? I googled him and he might of even tryed for bankrupsee.. Everyone makes excussus’s for the guy. Not me. I have liver damage. Dr. put me on a drug that could kill me.he just wanted money. If you want to see him? Call Rauchel his boss. She will act like a doctor when you call her for help. (702) 822-1188. If anyone want’s to talk about the guy? My name is Anthony Val Roybal in Las Vegas NV. (702)217-2869.

    Reply

  7. Posted by FRANK JONES on March 14, 2013 at 4:12 am

    This is all very interesting. I just started seeing this doctor for GAD. I’ve been on Xanax for 10 years, very low dose and I’m real good at managing it (as it IS a benzo) hence I’m well aware of the addictive properties and the half-life etc. First thing – I’m told I’m bi-polar and he wants to put me on Cymbalta, Deperkote as well as the current Wellbutrin I’m taking. I refused to go on the Deperkote, I did go on the Cybmbalta and surprisingly it’s working well. He then started me on a path to get of the Xanax – which I was reluctant but willing to do. I’m not saying its all good or all bad. I just want to make sure I’m not getting into something that is going to worsen my condition. Maybe I should get a second opinion?

    Reply

  8. Posted by Miranda on March 23, 2013 at 3:51 pm

    I have first hand experience working with Dr Horne and he is not only incompetent but dangerous in his prescribing habits. As for Juliet, I don’t believe there is a statute of limitations when you are harmed as a minor.

    Reply

  9. Posted by Circle on March 24, 2013 at 1:03 pm

    Dr.Horne was fired from the private company that provides health care at Clark County Detention Center in early 2013.

    Reply

  10. Posted by FRANK JONES on April 4, 2013 at 4:46 am

    For everyones info. I did leave his practice. Most of it I think was because of having to wait all the time and often when I was in there — I always heard them yelling at someone the phone over billing. I suspect I’ll be in the same boat. They told me when I started going there that I was covered. (Should have called my insurance company first; my mistake) Regardless I kept asking what the status of my claims were and I always got excuses. I suspect they are going to come back to me with a big bill. Arrrrg..

    Reply

  11. Dr Robert L Horn Needs To Be In Prison. His Research With Black Forest Were All Lies. He Would Give A Urine Sample From Himself To Turn In As A Sample From Another Patient. He Would Instruct His Nurse To Take A Blood sample From One Of The Staff To Have It Turned In As A Sample Of A Patient In The Research. My Wife Worked There At His Office Many Times Working 80+ Hours A Week Time And Time Again. She Was Driving From Overton, Many Times Almost Falling Asleep At The Wheel.This Doctor Treats Patients Not Being On The Books. I Wanted My Wife To Sue Doctor Horn For Back Overtime Pay, Over $50000.00 He Owes Her.We Didn’t Know If There Was A Statue O Limitations On During For Input Overtime. This Doctor Is Going To Kill Someone If He Us Allowe To Continue TO Practice. People Do Not Go To This Doctor.

    Reply

  12. Posted by Deb on June 13, 2013 at 1:27 pm

    WOW.. It appears that the nurse is just as responsible as the doctor. The nurse knew she was committing illegal acts. She should be turned in as well.

    Reply

  13. Posted by godzone on January 11, 2014 at 7:29 pm

    I worked for him pretty recently and he is a crook…his pa rachel lies for him, then when u quit she lies to unemployment so they dont have to pay. Their research studies are all fake, false, he is the one on all the freekin drugs. He has a stockpile in his closet for his own use. With the way eli lilly is getting rich off of that zypreza relprevv, hes robbing from peter to pay paul…..hey anthony, I remember you….your mom is the sweetest…..

    Reply

  14. Posted by Maxine Jones on July 5, 2014 at 11:21 am

    I am tired of reading bad reports on this doctor. I have read reports about this doctor on blood and urine exchange in clinical research trails to just plain quackery. Stop posting and start reporting to the following: Nevada State Medical Board, 1105 Terminal Way, Reno, NV. 89502 Phone: 775-688-2559: Federal Food and Drug Administration (FDA) 600 S. Las Vegas Blvd. Room 590, Las Vegas, NV. Phone: 702-388-6361: Nevada State Board of Examiners, 9436 W. Lake Mead Blvd. Las Vegas, NV. Phone: 702-486-7388 Also, the Nevada State Board of Nursing, 5011 Meadowood Mall Way, Suite 300, Reno, NV 89502 for the nurse that was involved.
    Phone: 775-688-7700

    Reply

  15. Posted by Cadey Lomeland on April 10, 2015 at 4:31 pm

    My experience with Dr. Horne was indeed quite the opposite of above reports. He saved my life. Hands down he is the most competent psychiatrist I have ever worked with. I saw him in 2013 and 2014 for treatment of anorexia, bulimia, alcoholism, OCD and ADHD. He prescribed me a non addictive regimen for my OCD and ADHD that has worked for me perfectly. He is definitely an expert in his field and his expertise is evident. I would recommend Robert to anyone.

    Reply

    • Posted by Mary on October 16, 2015 at 7:17 am

      I agree with you. I had severe ADHD and I was depressed and since being on Wellbutrin I feel like a different person. Everyone is going to have a negative opinion because it didn’t work on them. I would like you, would refer him. No one ever seemed uptight or yelling on the phone, everyone was very friendly. He was patient and understood my situation.

      Reply

  16. Posted by Clarity on June 20, 2015 at 10:23 pm

    I was at Carrier Clinic in 1984. I was so ill at the time, but I definitely remember how crazy Dr Horne was. All patients joked he was far nuttier than we were. I remember when he came to get me for appointments he would literally run ahead of me across the campus to get to his office. I was about 70lbs and in no fit condition to keep up with him. It was like he was on speed, he just could not control his motor agitation. He had no concept – and not a care – of what others thought of him. He did not really get to know his patients – there was no authenticity there – it was a power-trip for him. He knelt in front of me on the floor in his office and prayed and begged me to get better – not an empirically supported treatment. To no one’s surprise, it did not work. He had no clue I was water-loading like crazy – so no wonder I completely relapsed after discharge and remained ill for years afterwards. Although Carrier saved my life they did not understand how to get me well. I am amazed to find this blog and so many people complaining about him. It’s a shame that so many vulnerable people have been treated so unethically if these testimonials are true.

    Reply

  17. Posted by Brenda on July 23, 2015 at 12:02 pm

    I was in the Carrier Foundation in 1984 and back in 1985 for depression and an eating disorder. I lucked out and did not have Horne as my doctor. My roommate had him as a doctor and he did more damage to her than anything else. There was also young boy on the unit who died because he was complaining of severe headaches and lost of coordination Horne.refuse to get him check out well he had a brain tumor and died. Horne tried me to become his patient but to be perfectly honest I thought he was crazy and just wanted to control you and be his puppet. He is toldly responsible for that boys death.

    Reply

  18. Posted by William Debose on September 25, 2015 at 9:24 am

    Please keep in mind when reading these posts this man treats mentally ill / unstable people. He is also an addiction treatment doctor. I have been treated by Dr. Horne for nearly 5 years. I was an opiate addict for 15 years. Everything Dr. Horne has done with regard to my treatment is exactly what you would expect from a caring, compassionate, concerned physician. I have not always gotten exactly what I wanted from him but looking back he has always given me what I needed. Just because a doctor does not give you what you want doesn’t make him bad. Quite the contrary. I had “good” doctors give me exactly what I wanted for 15 years and looking back they clearly cared nothing for my well being. REALLY hard for me to believe any of what is posted here. If there was any truth to what is said here he would have been run out of the business long ago. Doctors actions are under a great deal of scrutiny these days.

    Reply

  19. “William Debose” I think that is a disgusting ad hominem attack. I know the difference between a “good” doctor and a “bad” doctor, as I have been to many in my moves to different states. Dr. Horne is a “bad” doctor. He damaged me in lots of ways, both physically and emotionally. Thank God I found better doctors out there who have helped to keep me healthy.

    Reply

  20. All of what you say regarding this man is 100% accurate. He has no clue… and the reason for this is because he is too busy looking after his own interests. I too was a patient at The Carrier Clinic in the early 80’s and was treated by Dr. Horne. He didn’t give a crap about me. He only cared that he was getting paid. I was young, misguided and ill at the time and he only made it worse by not giving a shit. He gave me strong medications that only made me feel worse and he never did one single thing that had my best interest at heart. I feel sorry for those who have him as a doctor and applaud those who have expressed their honest opinions about this horrific man. May he rot in hell where he belongs.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

